5. Inspiration

June 3, along with two hundred authors, I attended a writer’s conference sponsored by Penguin Publishing. The keynote speaker was inspirational:  Tama Kieves.  Tama gave up a lucrative and successful career in law (Harvard Law School) to be a writing/executive coach. Here are some of her wonderful words of encouragement to us writers:

“Listen to your own instincts, creativity, fire, and depth from within you.”

“Authors do not make it in the world, they remake it.”

“Do not give your power away to others: media, society, parents, etc.”

Her bottom line: do not get discouraged. Always write. Always follow your heart and dreams.  Be inspired. Amen.

Thank you Tama.DSC02104.JPG

Author: Alan A. Winter

I have the unique perspective of having four published novels, lecturing on how to write fiction while at the same time enjoying a full career as a board-certified periodontist. This duel career has and continues to enrich my life. I look forward to sharing what I have learned with others.

10 thoughts on “5. Inspiration”

  1. Thanks for sharing this. I’m hoping one day I can attend a writing conference and get to network with other writers. Not giving up is hard, and it’s something I struggle with on a daily basis.

    Like

      1. Keep on writing. It is paying off in personal benefits already! I feel that because of my writing, my life is richer, I enjoy the arts (all of them) far more than I did as a younger person. Keep it up!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I write a lot of reports for my job. A lot of professional writing, and it becomes a mundane grind. Even stepping outside, even just to get some air, helps clear the mind of the fog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

